2011 comments

You are very welcome to respond to any O’Shea Family History comments (under “comments”) above.

Regards,
Margaret (O’Shea) Jordan

This entry was posted in O'Shea Family History. Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to 2011 comments

  1. I am looking for any more info on James O’Shea, born 1891 in Carrick on Suir Tipperary. His birth certificate lists Ellen Shea as his mother, no father listed. He was born in the Tipperary workhouse. At some point he married a lady called Anne Shea and had at least one son called Michael O’shea. He ended his life in London. Thats all the definate info I have.

    Some possible info is that he had a brother Patrick a year young than himself and that his mother Ellen married a man called James Fitzgerald who had several children of his own. Any help would be great.

    • Eileen Murphy says:

      I was amaxed to see this: I have already researched these details for my own reasons: Patrick O’Shea is my great-grandfather, James is my grand-uncle and Ellen did indeed marry a man Called Fitzgerald.
      I too heard that the brothers were born in a workhouse and I am in full knowledge of who their real father was and would be happy to share that with family (which I take it you are – please do tell me how you are related).
      I just saw elsewhere a post from you asking about a man called Garrigan O’Shea ( my grandfather, Patrick was called Garrigan by all who knew him).
      Anyway – I would be delighted to talk to you. Are you Micky’s daughter?
      Eileen
      Email: eileen@murphy3272.freeserve.co.uk

    • Marg Flan says:

      I see where Margaret O’ Shea visited her uncle Jim Breen was it in Kilbrin Co Cork because I am trying to trace relatives of mine in that area as my Grandmother Catherine Breen came from around Kilbrin Co Cork DOB 1824/1834 approx
      Cheers
      Marg

  2. D Randall Taylor says:

    I’m looking for more info on my great-grandfather, John O’Shea. I have more than 200 documents and photos from his military career as an officer in the American army. He was born in Sneem, County Kerry on 29 June 1863, baptized on 9 July 1863. It is part of our family lore that he left Ireland in great haste, and I’m would like to find documents about that event. He married Lulie Holcomb in San Francisco and they had around 5 kids including my grandfather, John O’Shea. Other siblings included brother Carbery, sister Irene.

    It would be interesting to find distant relatives still in Ireland.

    Please post a reply and I will automatically get an email from this website.

    • Sharon Shea Bossard says:

      My father’s name was Carbery Shea and it’s good to hear that is a family name for your people. When I began searching for any information on my Irish born grandfather, I looked to the O’Shea yDNA Project and because of this project, I found cousins still living in the are where my grandfather was born. My grandfather, Michael Shea, was born in 1859 and there wasn’t a record of him in Ireland……this was the only way I was able to find family. I encourage you to join the project.

    • John Murphy says:

      Hi,
      I am also researching the (O’) Shea families of Sneem. At this stage, I have a reasonable database of people – primarily based on church records of the time and therefore incomplete. Nevertheless I have a much useful information. For convenience I will drop the O in O’Shea here – but they all are entitled to it.

      I found John Shea recorded on the 9th July 1863. He was the son of Daniel and Bridget Shea of Derreenaclaurig. They have another son Patrick registered on 17th March 1867 (St Patrick’s day and obviously in town for the market and festivities and could they give him any other name!). The second record has the home as Oysterbed.
      Hi,
      I am also researching the (O’) Shea families of Sneem. At this stage, I have a reasonable database of people – primarily based on church records of the time and therefore incomplete. Nevertheless I have a good deal of information. For convenience I will drop the O in O’Shea here – but they all are entitled to it.

      I found John Shea recorded on the 9th July 1863. The son of Daniel and Bridget Shea of Derreenaclaurig. They have another son Patrick registered on 17th March 1867 (St Patrick’s day and obviously in town for the market and festivities and could they give him any other name!). The second record has the home as Oysterbed.

      I find that the following areas are easily exchanged in the admin records: Derreenaclaurig, Oysterbed, Dremina- (More and Beg), Old Road and Derriquin. Griffith valuation map show these areas as being close together.

      The Griffith Valuation (on-line) of 1852 shows a plot of land in the (tenant) name of Denis Shea. This may be our man but unfortunately there are two Denis Shea in the area at that time (one married to Catherine Brennan). Worth noting is that there was also another Denis Shea married to a Bridget Shea in the Sneem area (Gortglass) at this time. This couple also had a son John so I am happy that we have two different families.

      My great, great, grandmother was Julia Shea from this area. She married Michael Murphy in the 1830’s. I traced her there after much research and was very pleased to find there also a Pillip Shea. Julia had a son in 1846 and called him Phillip – not one of our family names. It was the custom to name children after relatives so I believe that my Julia had a father, uncle or brother named Phillip. I also have a few other records of Murphy / Shea marriages in this area during 1800’s and later – a few more days work to sort out!

      The tithe records of the 1820’s also provide Shea names in the area but I have difficulty pin pointing individuals as it seems the tithe was paid by a partner on behalf of others – and other names are not provided.

      I would love to see any records left by people from time/area and I am keen to hear mention of people’s relatives as I am working on something akin to a jig-saw. Many left and it would be good to hear when and where they went and indeed why. They generally went for economical reasons but others were up against the law. The Howleys lived nearby and Howley’s Pier is still there but the family is long gone. My understanding is that they were hunted out because they had become unsettled and taken up arms. I would love to know if others found themselves in similar positions. This information is more likely to be left by people who went abroad as local conditions here were harsh to say the least and the famine drained any energy that might have been put into recording events.

      I would love to hear from anyone who can contribute.

      John Iveragh

      • Margaret Shea says:

        Hi,

        My great-grandparents were Denis Shea and Catherine Brennan (Kate).
        Denis was the seventh son in the family and I believe that Daniel Shea of Dereenaclaurig was his brother. My grandfather James Born on 28th April 1878 was also the seventh son and known as “Dr. Jim” in Sneem because of this. He married Margaret Minogue on 8th February 1916 and had six children – one of them my father. They lived at Dereenaclaurig. The farm was sold about 20 years ago and now is owned by a dutch man who makes and sells cheese.

        From family gossip I believe that at least two of my grandfather’s brothers went to New York but really know nothing else about my great-grandfather’s siblings and would love to find out.

        Margaret Shea

        • John Murphy says:

          Hi Margaret,
          I know of “Dr Jim” and I have spoken to someone who knew him in Sneem – I suspect it was back around the 1950’s – it may have been earlier. I see that he is in the church register and so are the other six boys but only Jim and his father are there for 1901 census. Not sure where they went.
          Jim was known to possess some healing powers. Interestingly, another O’Shea (Daniel – publican) was a well known healer of animals in my time and I attended with him on a number of occasions while he nursed animals back to health. He was an amazing man. I would have been synical of his powers if I had not witnessed it myself. No one locally ever doubted his ability – and he was in constant demand. Wonder if he was related to Dr Jim?
          A few bits of information would be useful if you know:
          When did Jim die?
          Where was his wife from? The census suggests Co Clare.
          I have a very interesting anecdote relating to the circumstances/place of Jim’s own birth. I don’t want to relate it here but I would like to validate it, if possible. If you wish, I will pass it on to you – my email is johnmurphy375@gmail.com.

          John.

        • Patrick J. O' Shea says:

          Might have some pieces of info if it’s the same person. My Grandfather was also James O Shea from Dereenaclaurig. My father (Patrick) told me as a child that James was the 7th son of a 7th son. His six brothers left for America and he had to saty behind to keep the farm going and to look after his father. My brother John traced ( I think) some of the grandchildren of James brothers. I believe that some of the brothers joined the Police and that two brothers were shot dead the same night. If I have the right James, both he and his wife Margaret (nee Minogue who hailed from Galway) had the following children two girls Margeret (Peggy) and Kathleen and four sons Denis (Dinny) John, Danny and my father Patrick. The farm belonging to James was sold many years ago to a Dutch man who makes and sell cheese…possibly a small world

      • Heather Forman says:

        Hello John,

        I am looking for information on my great grandmother, Mary Frances O’Shea, b. 1868 in Sneem. She immigrated to the U.S. in 1885 or 6 and settled in Orange, Massachusetts, marrying my great grandfather, Elmer L. Barney, in 1890.

        I would love to find out the names of her parents, grandparents or siblings. If you have any information, I would be very grateful.

        Heather Forman

        • John Murphy says:

          Hi Heather,
          I have some info but still need to check a few items.
          Mary was married on 24th August 1890 (Massachusets records) and provided dob of 1870 and parents as Michael Shea and Mary Dwyer. The marriage of Mary and Michael is recorded in parish records as 10th April 1869 with witnesses John Shea and Michael Sullivan. You will find this in Sneem parish (RC) records (http://churchrecords.irishgenealogy.ie/churchrecords/) The place is Brackross which is south of Sneem in another parish called Tahilla. Both were alive for the 1901 census and in the house on that night was Abbey Dwyer – Mary’s sister. You can find them at (www.census.nationalarchives.ie/search/) and use names Michael Shea and DED of Tahilla. Both were 60 in 1901 and all seem to have passed on by 1911. The census address is Rossdohan.
          I am having difficulty with the birth records in that the parents are coming up as Michael and Margaret. I must view the original records to see if this is a translation issue (original are in Latin) or if indeed there is another couple called Michael and Margaret – which I doubt. The children recorded are Mary (1869), Elizabeth (1872), Patrick (1873), Alexander (1874) and Hanora (1880).
          Elizabeth is recorded as Brackross while the others are under Rossmore. Rossdohan and Rossmore are two islands side by side and it is normal that place names get mixed up – I have found this with others. However, it may also mean that the people moved. If this is your Mary (1869) we are out of kilter with the marriage record (1870) and the marriage record (1869). However, keep in mind that church dates can be incorrect – often written up well after the event and babies might be early. What were they doing?
          There is also a Bridget Shea born on 13th December 1869 to father Michael and mother Mary(?) in Brackross – as if to tease us.
          Do these people and events match with any of your family records? Let me know and I will check the actual church records to see if name Margaret has been incorrectly used instead of Mary. Are you aware of any brothers or sisters of Mary and where they went?
          John.

        • John Murphy says:

          Hi Heather,
          I have some info but still need to check a few items.
          Mary was married on 24th August 1890 (Massachusets records) and provided dob of 1870 and parents as Michael Shea and Mary Dwyer. The marriage of Mary and Michael is recorded in parish records as 10th April 1869 with witnesses John Shea and Michael Sullivan. You will find this in Sneem parish (RC) records (http://churchrecords.irishgenealogy.ie/churchrecords/) The place is Brackross which is south of Sneem in another parish called Tahilla. Both were alive for the 1901 census and in the house on that night was Abbey Dwyer – Mary’s sister. You can find them at (www.census.nationalarchives.ie/search/) and use names Michael Shea and DED of Tahilla. Both were 60 in 1901 and all seem to have passed on by 1911. The census address is Rossdohan.
          I am having difficulty with the birth records in that the parents are coming up as Michael and Margaret. I must view the original records to see if this is a translation issue (original are in Latin) or if indeed there is another couple called Michael and Margaret – which I doubt. The children recorded are Mary (1869), Elizabeth (1872), Patrick (1873), Alexander (1874) and Hanora (1880).
          Elizabeth is recorded as Brackross while the others are under Rossmore. Rossdohan and Rossmore are two islands side by side and it is normal that place names get mixed up – I have found this with others. However, it may also mean that the people moved. If this is your Mary (1869) we are out of kilter with the marriage record (1870) and the marriage record (1869). However, keep in mind that church dates can be incorrect – often written up well after the event and babies might be early. What were they doing?
          There is also a Bridget Shea born on 13th December 1869 to father Michael and mother Mary(?) in Brackross – as if to tease us.
          Do these people and events match with any of your family records? Let me know and I will check the actual church records to see if name Margaret has been incorrectly used instead of Mary. Are you aware of any brothers or sisters of Mary and where they went?
          John.
          Hi Heather,
          I managed to get to the Nat Lib on Friday and I was able to see the original record for the 1869 marriage and the birth of Hanora in 1880. The names are definitely Michael Shea and Mary Dwyer. In the transfer of church records to the website “Mary” was mistakenly taken as “Margaret”. I didn’t have time to check any other siblings but I am reasonably confident that Mary, Elizabeth, Patrick, Alex and Hanora are the children of Michael and Mary. I did try for the record of Bridget Shea (1869) but was not successful as the records are so poor and it takes a while to identify specific items – I was getting close when the announcment came “Lib is about to close”. So a job for another day.
          If, in the course of my research, I am able to trace the progress of these people, I will let you know.
          John.

      • D. Randall Taylor says:

        Hello Margaret O’Shea,

        It might be possible that you and I would be related through our shared Denis O’Shea in Sneem. I have complete verification that my g-grandfather, John O’Shea, born in Sneem on 29 June 1863, baptized on 9 July 1863 to Denis and Bridget O’Shea, godparents being Denis Buckley and Ellen O’Shea). John O’Sheas birth and baptism are on the churchrecords.irishgenealogy.ie website as:

        Book Number Page Entry Number Record_Identifier
        2 54 N/R KY-RC-BA-433940 .

        My John O’Shea left Sneem in 1880. According to family lore, he had to leave Ireland in great haste and at great risk. I know the details of the family lore, but I will omit them here, although I would share them through private email with you.

        In 2011, the archivist at the County Kerry library, was kind enough to investigate the old newspapers for me and he discovered that the Kerry Evening Post published the following on November 29, 1979:

        “Murder of a Bailiff in Sneem
        Yesterday a man named Myles Brennan went to execute a decree obtained at the last Kenmare sessions against a woman named Kate Shea residing in the village of Sneem. She resisted the seizure and in the struggle, she killed the bailiff outright with a hatchet. She was arrested immediately after.”

        I have copies of this newspaper article as well as 2 other articles about the event which eventually led to her conviction of manslaughter and a sentence of 1.5 years at hard labor. I can share all of these materials with you, if you would like to see them.

        My family lore is that Denis O’Shea of Sneem, my g-g-grandfather was married twice. Perhaps he was married to both your Catherine (Kate?) and my Bridget, at different times. My g-grandfather, John O’Shea had 2 half brothers, Mortimer and Timothy, both immigrated to America. It is said their mother’s name was Julia Brosman (not Catherine or Kate). Timothy O’Shea married Rose Malone. The two half brothers immigrated to New York and them perhaps to Chicago. As you see, some of this might match your family story.

        Regarding the arrest and trial of Catherine (Kate) O’Shea, I cannot be certain (yet) that there is a link to my g-grandfather, John O’Shea of Sneem, but the circumstances regarding his departure from Ireland, and the details reported in the newspaper, lead me to speculate that there is a link. The total truth would be almost impossible to discover now, but maybe we can uncover some of what occurred. I cannot pass judgement about these events, whatever happened is distantly removed from us in time and space.

        But it would be fascinating to discover more of the truth and the relationships among us O’Sheas.

        Looking forward to your reply.

        • Bonnie Henson says:

          Timothy O’SHEA, my g-grandfather, born ca. 1819, Co. Kerry, emigrated from Cork to Boston in May 1848 and was naturalized in Putnam County, Indiana 9 November 1852. He had a daughter Mary Elizabeth who married Eugene S. WALKER and a granddaughter Rose Pearl WALKER. It’s believed Timothy is from Sneem.

          The WALKER family, railroad employee, ended up living in Chicago.

          Perhaps we should discuss?

          Bonnie Bowman Henson, bbowhenson@att.net

      • D. Randall Taylor says:

        Correction to my post: The Kerry Evening Post article was November 29, 1879 (not 1979).

        my email: drandalltaylor@yahoo.com

      • D Randall Taylor says:

        Heather,
        My g-grandfather John O’Shea was born 29 June 1863 in Sneem, 5 years before your Mary Francis O’Shea, also in Sneem. Maybe they were siblings? Do you know the names of Mary’s parents? My John O’Sheas parents names were Denis and Bridget.

      • james lunn says:

        Hi there, I have just read your article. In my early days of the 1940’s I visited my Uncle Jim Breen’s farm at Moneyfluogh (many different spellings for this). Above him (my Uncle Jim) and just on the Sneem Road there live a ‘Paddy Shea’ – we dipped our sheep there as he had a sheep dip on his farm. Paddy was a small man and lived alone – he was very nice to us boys whenever we visited, which as almost every year. Hope this helps. James Lunn

      • Linda O'Driscoll PeRce says:

        I have just started into working on the geneology of my family. I have a little bit of an advantage, as my mother was born in Tuosist, County Kerry in 1920. She is the daughter of Philip Casey and Johanna O’Leary. Interstingly, ia have O’Sheas on both sides of my mother’s family. My maternal grandmother, Johanna O’Leary was born in 1886. She was the daughter of Patrick O’Leary and Mary O’Shea. I have no birth ir death dates for either. My maternal grandfather, Philip Casey, was the son of James Casey born 11/29/1850 and Hanora O’Shea, born on 8/19/1855, in County Kerry and died 11/2/1944. If anyone can connect this information and help me get more details of my family, it would be greatly appreciated. Having O’Shea’s on both sides of my mother’s family makes this link very interesting. Please let me know if anyone can help.
        Linda O’Driscoll Pearce

  3. Barb Miller says:

    Hi everyone,
    Hope 2011 brings you all much success in your geni research, and love, peace and joy in the rest of your lives! I am still looking for more about my Shea/O’Shea ancestors who we now know originated in Co Kerry in probably late 1700’s early 1800’s the moved to County Cork. We have John Shea b 1831 to John Shea and Ellen Barry in Youghal, Cork. John 1831 changed his name to O’Shea when he emigrated to Australia about 1848. Have still been unable to find the right John in convict records, shipping lists, etc, etc.so don’t know how and exactly when he got here. Would also like to find out if John Shea and Ellen Barry had any other children, and which Barry family Ellen was from – for starters 🙂 cheers everyone.

  4. Wendy Shea says:

    Hello,
    Am looking for more info on the townland of Bolus, Co. Kerry. Does it still exist? is/was it large, small, etc. My husband’s great grandfather, Jeremiah Shea was baptized 9 Jan 1845 in Castletownbere, Co. Cork. his parents were Denis and Mary (Murphy)Shea. He had two brothers, Patrick and Denis. Bolus was apparently across the bay from Castletownbere in Co. Kerry. I cannot find it on any current map. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  5. James O'Shea says:

    Hello,

    Thanks to one of the links I found here I was able to find my great-great grandfather, Christopher O’Shea in the 1900 Cook County (Chicago) census:

    https://www.familysearch.org/s/recordDetails/show?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fpilot.familysearch.org%2Frecords%2Ftrk%3A%2Ffsrs%2Frr_34716139%2Fp_50878051&hash=HloWXpZgU9zB10k5M56iYku8TUc%253D

    I also found this about him on my own:

    CHRISTOPHER O’SHEA, patrolman; born in Ireland 1847; came to
    Chicago April, 1868; entered the force May 9, 1882; August 15
    1883, was shot by Mark Davis while quelling a disturbance at
    Ogden’s Grove.

    I am trying find out more about him…especially what part of Ireland he was from.

    Thanks,

    James O’Shea
    jmoshea@hotmail.com

    • James O'Shea says:

      I found Christopher’s father Denis and now
      I am trying to find out what part of Ireland my great-great-great grandfather was from. He brought his family over through St John, New Brunswick, Canada, then moved to Chicago, IL, USA, in the 1850s I believe. He is buried Calvary Cemetary in Evanston, IL. He was married to Margreth Downey, also born in 1810, and she was from Bantry, Co Cork, Ireland.

      I assume that people didn’t travel very far at the time and that perhaps he’s from Cork as well…

      • Sharon Shea Bossard says:

        Did you go through the archived Chicago newspapers for the era your great-great grandfather was murdered? WE found the U.S. newspapers a great source of information searching in Chicago. This terrible crime would certainly have made the front pages.

      • David O'Shea says:

        James,
        Some of the names from Chicago are the same as the names I have (except spelling for Dennis, might be my error).

        I am told that my gg grandfather is Dennis Christopher O’Shea, grandfather is Edmund Francis O’Shea from the Chicago/Wilemet area
        in the 20’s and 30’s and 40’s.
        There is some refernce to the O’Shea Knitting Mills in the Chicago area
        (there seem to be alot of tailors and clothing mill references to O’Sheas on both sides of the pond….. they can’t all be mine!!!)

        Might either of these names connect to Christopher or Denis in your post above?
        Thanks for listening

        Dave O’Shea
        Castle Rock, Colorado

    • Mary Pat Holtschlag says:

      James,

      There are quite a few newspaper articles which reference Christopher O’Shea in the line of duty as a chicago police officer. Not very long in length, but information none the less.
      Mary Pat O’Shea Holtschlag

  6. Tom Barnett says:

    Hello there ..I’ve been searching for my great grandparents Thomas OShea and Hannah Roughan .. I’ve just got my dna results back (a male OShea cousin did the swab) and our Irish roots are connected to the Kilkenny Shee family. This fits because I’ve uncovered the family burial plot and farmhouse in Kilvemnon, Mullinahone. I’d been making plans to travel to Ireland and I’d been recommended a self catering farm called Crocanoir. The owner, John Bermingham and his son Sean took a few scant details of my search and within 24 hours they had found the OShea burial plot. On top of that, North Tipperary Genealogy has found living relatives of Hannah Roughan in Barnagore. What a trip this is going to be !!

    • helen o'shea kingi says:

      great news Tom .Are you related to my line 123084? Will give you Joe Kennedys details too. Check out the on line burials for SHEA and Shee O’shea From Kilbride cemetry and THe church yard in Callan..would love to hear as you go..I stayed with Margaret and Seamus Treacy at Moonarch Commons BB and that is right there where mine came from..amazing people too.Keep us in touch Helen O’shea Kingi NZ

  7. Sharon Shea Bossard says:

    The O’Shea project continues to amaze me…..the expertise of our project administrator, Margaret O’Shea Jordan, always seems to nail it. I believe some folks are just born genealogists; it’s tough to put all of this together on our own and Margaret rocks. I sponsored a kit for a Canadian O’Shea, thinking perhaps this could be our missing link. The results are in and looks like our families did have a relationship in the 1700s…..but faded after that. The really interesting part is that these Canadian O’Shea’s match very closely with a Shea currently in our project. This is so exciting for all of us! Just imagine if more O’Shea’s/Shea’s would join the project, our data base would grow and how interesting all the connections. I don’t know of any other project running with the intelligence ours has…..that genius being Margaret. I’ve sponsored three kits through the project and did strike gold with one of them…..finding relatives in Ireland truly changes the game, helps you feel so connected. I urge any O’Shea’s out there to really give this good thought…..if you’ve not yet ordered your kit through the O’Shea Project….what are you waiting for? Slainte, Sharon Shea

    • Mike says:

      My name is Michael O’Shea from Shannon, Quebec, Canada. my family arrived in 1821. How does one order a kit.

      • oshea says:

        Hi Michael,

        My name is Margaret Jordan and I am one of the admins. of the O’Shea yDNA Project. I will email you privately but generally you need to order a kit from:
        http://www.familytreedna.com/group-join.aspx?Group=OShea
        I would recommend at least a 37 marker kit but a 67 marker kit would be better for identifying close relationships.

        Regards,
        Margaret Jordan

        • Christine says:

          What is involved when you order a kit? Christine

        • oshea says:

          Hi Christine,

          You order a kit as descibed above. Then you need a male relative to do the mouth swab. Send the sample back to Family Tree DNA in Texas. You have to wait a few weeks and then you get emails telling you about your yDNA matches. You also have access to a personal webpage which you can use to check matches and make contact with them.

          Margaret

  8. Rick says:

    Hi all. I was looking at an 1850 census for Indianapolis, Marion Co., Indiana and I didn’t have enough information to know if the people listed were my ancestors. The people were Rodger Shea 73, Mary Shea 63, Thos R Shea 20, and Cornelius Shea 24. All born in Ireland. I know Cornelius married a Susan. On the 1900 census for Cornelius, the year of immigration is 1847. I looked up Roger on Passenger and Immigration lists index, 1500s-1900s on ancestry and it had reference to Indiana Historical Society. I called there and the woman talking to me read what it said about him and it was “Owes allegiance to Victoria, Queen Of England”, does anyone know what that means? It also gave me arrival and naturalization dates for Roger, Cornelius, and Thos R. Shea. It did not say where they were naturalized but I couldn’t find any other family like this in Indianapolis on the 1850 census so I’m sure these are the right people. Also, the ages were consistent with arrival and naturalization dates on the 1850 census and Cornelius was naturalized the same date as Roger. Does anyone have any tips on where to locate the naturalization records??? Couldn’t find them on ancestry. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    • oshea says:

      Hi Rick,

      I thought that ancestry.com had naturalization Records? I found the following website which might help:
      http://www.naturalizationrecords.com/usa/naturalizations.shtml

      Allegiance to the Queen of England was expected of all people in Ireland as we were governed by the British Crown (Queen in this case) until we got independence.

      Regards,
      Margaret Jordan

      • Rick says:

        Thanks Margaret. I might not have been very clear but I was trying to be. I’m trying to get a copy of the naturalization records and I have no idea where to get them. Ancestry has naturalization records, but I couldn’t find any on the people I was looking for. I might need to look on there a little harder though. Thanks for the tips, I appreciate it.
        Best Regards,
        Rick

  9. Barb says:

    re: 1)JOHN SHEA and brother DANIEL SHEA in Michigan late 1800’s and 2)MARGARET O’SHEA b 1833 County Kerry>New Hampshire>Iowa
    Hi again all,
    Came across the following while still researching my John Shea, s/o John Shea and Ellen Barry b Oct 1831 Youghal, Cork.
    Nothing to do with mine but may help someone researching these Shea/O’Shea families.
    1) JOHN SHEA m Caroline Alschbach (b 28 Oct 1868) on 24th June 1889 at Negaunee, MarQuette Michigan, they had John Russell Shea, Daniel Leslie Shea, Clement George Shea and Arthur H Shea. John’s brother DANIEL SHEA m Caroline’s niece, Ellen (Nell) Mellen, daughter of Caroline’s sister Katharina Alschbach (b 19/1/1859).
    2) Margaret O’Shea b 15 Sept 1833 co Kerry Ireland married John Harrington (b 24 Jun 1825 Co Cork Ireland) on 21 Feb 1857 Church of Immaculate Conception, Nashua, New Hampshire US and died 18 Jan 1901 Mt Zion, Van Buren Iowa, US. They had Mary Harrington 1858 New Hampshire, Julia Agnes Harrington 1859 New Hampshire m Michael Molumby 1877,Michael Harrington 1861 New Hampshire m Nora Sullivan in Oskaloosa, Iowa 1885, Margaret Harrington 1864, Jeremiah Harrington 1866 in Bentonsport, Van Buren Iowa, Daniel F Harrington b 1869, and John C Harrington.
    Hope this is of help to someone – some common Shea/O’Shea family names here so who knows.
    Cheers everyone. Barb

  10. keith miller says:

    I,Keith Miller,was born in Preston,a suburb of Melbourne,Victoria,Australia,on 24thJuly1946. I am seeking information on John Patrick Simmons and Agnes O’Shea who were married on 3rd March 1908 in the Catholic church in Myrtleford,Victoria,Australia. John Patrick Simmons was born circa 1881 in Bright,Victoria; Agnes O’Shea was born in Buckland,Victoria,circa 1887.(Possibly 1885?)

    John’s parents were John Bernard Simmons and Margaret (nee Hickey); Agnes’s parents were James O’Shea and Elizabeth (nee Turner). Witnesses were Alicia O’Shea(a sister of Agnes)and George Thomson. The priest was John Duggan.

    One of John and Agnes’ children was Josephine, who later married James Miller;they were my parents.

    • Linda Turner says:

      Hello Keith, I saw that you have Elizabeth (nee Turner) O’Shea in your search. Elizabeth was one of Eli and Mary Turner’s children, Buckland Victoria, in the 1870’s. Eli was my hisbands gggrandfather. Please contact if you know more about Elizabeth or the Turner family. Regards Linda Turner. email: eleftheriaturner@hotmail.com

  11. Alison (O'Shea) Hayne says:

    I am searching for any information on My Grandfather John Christopher O’Shea. He was born in Kerry in 1915. He then ended up in Jersey, Channel Islands by the late 1930’s. He had two children Mary Ellen and John Christopher with Amelia Lillicrap. He was then deported to Germany during the occupation. I believe he died in London around 1975. Although I have been told all of this information, I am still struggling to find him. Please Help. Ali

    • oshea says:

      Hi Alison,

      On http://www.familysearch.org I was able to find the index for the birth of a John Christopher O’Shea in 1915. The birth was in the Kenmare Registration District, July-Sept. 1915, Vol 5, page 209. With this information, you can order a photocopy of the birth cert. from the GRO in Roscommon (http://www.groireland.ie/) for €4 (from Ireland but I am not sure of the exact price from elsewhere). If you get the birth cert, you will get the townland for this man’s family and the 1911 and 1901 Censuses should help to identify the family. I hope this index is for your grandfather.

      http://www.ancestry.co.uk might help with finding his death index or http://www.findmypast.co.uk.

      Regards,
      Margaret Jordan
      http://www.osheaclan.org

      • Alison (O'Shea) Hayne says:

        Hi. Thank you very much for your reply. I have looked at the birth in Kenmare before, however I have seen a document that gives his dob as 4-12-1915. This would be the next quarter on from the one listed. However, I am waiting on a copy of what I believe to be his death certificate and this gives his dob as 04-12-1920. So anything is possible.

        • Trevor Baker says:

          I have a Visitors Book that was formerly in the Officers Mess at RAF Leuchars. Your grandfather signed it on 6 February 1943 after a flight from Bromma Airport in Stockholm. These flights from Bromma to Leuchars carried many famous people as well as British and Norwegian agents working for the Special Operations Executive. If you let me have your email address, I will email you a photo of the page he signed.

  12. Phillip Michael O'Shea says:

    My great-grandfather was Thomas Shee (O’Shee/O’Shea) born in Coolbaun Townland, Castlecomer Parish, Kilkenny County. He was the son of Henry Power Shee and Elizabeth Shore. We know of only one sibling, Dr. Patrick O’Shee. These two brothers immigrated to Simcoe County Canada in 1842 and then to Kansas and Nebraska in 1871 time frame. Their father was dead by the time they left Ireland, but their mother lived until the late 1860’s dying in the poor house in Castlecomer. Family history indicates there were siblngs, James, Michael and Mary, but none are proven and there is no information on any of them in the family. I have had DNA testing done and it does indeed lead back to Kilkenny which it should. We have truly reached the “Brick Wall” in 1812 in Kilkenny. Church records and census records are missing as are the sibing of these two men. If anyone has any other idea’s please share.
    Mike O’Shea
    Norfolk, Virginia USA

    • Sandra says:

      I have managed to obtain my Johanna Shay’s Death Certificate, she was actually Johanna Shay (not O’shea-although some of her son’s/husbands certificates spell it this way). She was born in 1839 in Kikenny Ireland but her father’s name was Michael Shay farmer from Kilkenny with unknown mother. She migrated to SA around 1857 She married in South Australia 1858-1859(John Bentley -although there is no record of this-she actually married a Thomas castle from Kent, England in a Roman Catholic church in SA in 1858. She did leave SA with John Bentley in 1859 and settled with him in Katoomba NSW here they had 10 children. Could this Michael
      be connected? Regards Sandra (Australia)

  13. Sandra says:

    I have managed to obtain my Johanna Shay’s Death Certificate, she was actually Johanna Shay (not O’shea/O’shay-although some of her son’s/husbands certificates spell it this way). She was born in 1839 in Kikenny Ireland but her father’s name was Michael Shay farmer from Kilkenny with unknown mother. She migrated to SA around 1857 She married in South Australia 1858-1859(John Bentley -although there is no record of this-she actually married a Thomas castle from Kent, England in a Roman Catholic church in SA in 1858). She did leave SA with John Bentley in 1859 and settled with him in Katoomba NSW here they had 10 children.
    Johanna’s father is listed as O’shay on Johanna’s husbands death certificate 1881, O’shea on Johanna’s sons marriage certificate 1911, Shay on Johanna’s sons birth certificate 1869, O’shea on Johanna’s sons death certificate 1943, and Shay on Johanna’s marriage certificate 1858 (to Thomas Castle). Her father Michael farmer from Kilkenny is listed on Johanna’s death certificate 1918 (mother unknown) as O’shay and on her marriage certificate 1858 (to Thomas Castle) as Michael Shay. She was definately born in Kilkenny 1839 and is buried in Katoomba NSW. She stayed with John Bentley in Katoomba after leaving South Australia 1859. I have recently found out that they could have run away together (cause she was married and a Catholic). The Bentley family did not know what happened to their son John, he seemed to disappear! I think they went to live in the mountains of Katoomba NSW to hide from family shame. Interestingly there was a Luke Shea who also came out on the Cheapside (the same ship and journey as the James and son John Bentley family). Any iformation appreciated. Kind Regards Sandra (Australia)

  14. Looking for Tom O’Shea who contacted me in February 2011 via Facebook, asking if I am related to Norah Peg Jim Tom and Teddy . Yes I am related. They were siblings of my paternal grandmother, Kathleen Rose O’Shea. Those listed above were all living in the London area in the 1950’s. Tom if you are out there, I would love to get in contact with you . Kathleen moved to Adelaide Australia with her husband Sydney Smith in 1921 we think.

  15. David O'Shea says:

    Looking for relatives of Dennis Christopher O’Shea, Chicago Illinois
    or Edmund Francis O’Shea, of O’Shea Knitting Mills

  16. Rick Vassar says:

    I am looking for any information on Timothy O’Shea family. His daughter, Margaret O’Shea, born 22 Sept 1918, is my grandmother. She moved to Birmingham, England and married Lester Diffey April 1944. Margaret came to America on the Queen Mary shortly thereafter and moved to California, USA and lived until Feb 1976. Her second daughter, Dana, is my mom. Dana died in 1992. I recently received a copy of Margaret’s marriage certificate from Birmingham, England and learned that her dad’s name was Timothy and that he was a farmer. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated as I have always been cut off from this part of my family. Thank You, Rick Vassar

  17. Patricia Shay says:

    I am looking for connections either in Ireland or the USA for a Cornelius Shea who was married to Ellen Kerris (Carris) and lived in French Creek, Mercer County, Pennsylvania in 1870. Cornelius was born in Ireland in 1815 and immigrated either to Canada or the US. He was in Maine in 1851 where his son John was born. I do not know whether there may have been older children, but there were five more at the time of the 1870 Census….Patrick (1853), Cornelius (1857), Daniel (1858), Timothy (1861), and Mary (1864).
    Patrick was my ancestor. He married Susan Dean (also from French Creek) and lived in Ashtabula, Ohio, when my grandfather John Dean Shea and his twin sister, Pattie Mae were born in 1876. I do have record of Daniel living in McKees Rock, PA in 1900 and later in Youngstown, Ohio. I believe that John also lived in Youngstown at one point. I believe he married a Ryan. It seemed that his younger brother Timothy and his sister Mary lived with him at that time. Any help with any of these people would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks! Patricia Shay

  18. Terry FitzGibbon says:

    Looking for any information relating to Denis O’Shea who married Julia Heagerty prior to 1846. Both were born in county Kerry. They had at least 3 children – Patrick (born 1846 county Cork), Mary and Margaret. Patrick (my great-grandfather) emigrated to New Zealand and married Annie Dalton (born 1862 county Waterford). They had 12 children all born in Wellington NZ. Thanks for any information relating to the above.
    Terry FitzGibbon

  19. oshea says:

    I thought I would just say that if any O’Sheas want to get in touch with us at http://www.osheaclan.org, please do. There are four email addresses listed, two of us are in Ireland and two in the USA. We would be happy to try to point you in the right direction.Don’t forget our yDNA Project as well.

    Regards,
    Margaret (O’Shea) Jordan
    Cork
    Ireland

    • Christine says:

      Hi
      I recently believe I found my Gr3 grandparents in Waterford Co., Ireland. Robert and Mary Fowler Shea came to and settled in Lanark Co., Canada in 1823 aboard the ship Stakesby left Mallow, Cork, Ireland. Here is the following info I found and believe it is my family.

      A Church Baptism Record for Robert Shea b. July 13 1788, Shinrone, Co. Offaly, father Michael Shea. This birth date falls into approximate age of Robert on board the Stakesby in 1823. He was 36 yrs. old.

      A Church Baptism Record for Mary Fowler baptism September 12 1796 in Trinity Within (Cathed.) Co. Waterford, Ireland. Father-John Fowler and mother Ann Fowler. Sponsors Edward Walsh and M. Leary. Roman Catholic. This date comes close to age of Mary on board the Stakesby in 1823. She was listed as 28 yrs old.

      A Church Marriage Record for Robert and Mary. Married on October 20, 1813 in Trinity Without, Co Waterford. Both Roman Catholic.

      Sponsors Daniel Fowler and Brigid Stretch. Officiator Quirk J. Place-Ballybricken. Comment: Dispensation Obtained.

      Possibly found Simon Shea their son who also was with them on the Stakesby. He was Baptised on Dec 6 1814 in Carrick-On-Suir, Co. Waterford, Ireland. Sponsors Boyle and Ellen Power. Listed as Roman Catholic. Mary’s name is spelled Mary Fouly. Simon’s age was listed as 10 yrs old on board the Stakesby. This can be found in Carol Bennetts book.

      Now Mary Fowler was baptised in Trinity Within (Cathed.) and her parents names were John and Ann. I found a Church Baptism Record for a John Fowler Dec 30 1767 in Trinity Within (Cathed.), Co. Waterford, Ireland. Roman Catholic. His father was a Thomas and mother Elizabeth Flin. Sponsors-Edmund Merry and Elizabeth Flin. A possible father of Mary.

      Now Robert Shea was born in Shinrone, Co. Offaly 1788. His father listed as a Michael Shea. I found a Church Baptism Record for a Michael Shea born August 6 1745 in Shinrone, Co. Offaly. His father was a Thomas Shea. (we have the name Thomas running down our line). I believe a this could be a possible match for father and son.

      Found a Church Marriage Record for a Michael Shea and Elizabeth Smithson. Marriedon November 8 1772 in Shinrone, Co. Offaly. So Robert born in Shinrone, Michael possible father also born and married in Shinrone.

      Also Mary Fowler was baptised in Trinity Withhin (Cathed.) Co. Waterford, Ireland, married Trinity Without, Co. Waterford, Ireland. Her possible match for a father John Fowler can be found baptised in Trinity Within (Cathed.), Co. Waterford, Ireland.

      As It all looks good on paper I am not 100 percent sure of all this info. Though I am quite sure of Robert and Mary’s marriage record and birth of their son. If you have any input or info I would surely appreciate hearing from any one. Thanks Christine

  20. Katherine Delaney says:

    Looking for any all information re: Patrick O’Shea was born August 14, 1812 in Doneraile, Co. Cork Ireland, and died January 13, 1868 in Milford, MA.

    Believe this is the same Patrick that married Margaret Barrett (dau. of Edward and Mary nee O’Conner) on December 19, 1832 in Doneraile, Co. Cork

    Children of Patrick O’Shea and Margaret Barrett are:
    +John A. O’Shea, b. Abt. 1837, Doneraile, Co. Cork Ireland, d. 1900, Boston Mass.
    Daniel O’Shea, b. Abt. 1838, Doneraile, Co. Cork Ireland, d. date unknown.
    Margaret O’Shea, b. Abt. 1842, Doneraile, Co. Cork Ireland, d. date unknown.

    Patrick and family came to Boston in 1850 on the R.C. Winthrop

    Fantastic site …. my thanks for all the great information … now if I can just find some male cousins for the study

  21. Liz O'Shea says:

    My family was from Youghal, Cork. My Dad was born in 1928 (Nicholas)in NY. His Father was John,(circa 1893) his baptism was at Ballydaniel. My Dad had several aunts & uncles. I believe they were named, Della, Mary (Kelly married Maurice), Nicholas and a few more….not sure becuase he passed in 1997. I can be reached at hrhlizo@hotmail.com …Liz O’Shea

  22. James Glenn Shea says:

    I am trying to track down the Ireland connection to ggGrandfather. Peter E Shea b:6/16/1830 in Ireland d:1/11/1912 in Chelsea Mass, emigrated to Boston in 1845 from unknown location. Married Margaret Kilduff in Boston 1849 who also came from Ireland around the same time. Margaret was born March 1831 in Ireland and died in Boston on July 29, 1900. They had 12 childern 7 surviving to adulthood. My Great gradfather, James Joseph Shea, was number 9 and spent his whole life in the Boston area.
    I have submitted DNA swabs to FTDNA with projected results some time in mid February. Peter E Shea’s parents listed on his death certificate were Michael Shea and Mary (Mack) Shea. Anyone out there run across these names?

  23. Arthur O'Shea says:

    I would be very interested to trace my ancestors.I’m Arthur O’Shea,from Newmarket,Co.Cork.The O’Shea’s have been in Cork for seven generations at least.They came from Aghadoe in Kerry,sometime in the 1830/40’s.They were cattle dealers,common names in the family were Con,Charles,Arthur.I would appreciate if anybody has any further information.

    • Karen O'Driscoll says:

      Arthur, my great great grandfather was Michael O’Shea from Newmarket, a farrier and he is the father of Sir Henry O’Shea who went to national school in Kilbrin and Henry married Bridget Bluett who also went to the National school in Kilbrin. Henry emigrated to America, met Bridget there and married her in New York, they returned to Cork and had 10 children, one of which was my grandmother.
      Karen O’Driscoll

  24. Ann Wise says:

    I have been trying to trace my ancestors. The information I have is my great grandparents are John Shea(Tim) and Catherine Shea(nee Sullivan) of Brackross, County Kerry. They had 10 children, I could only find 9. They were Bridget born 1858, Timothy born 1861, Timothy born 1867, Patrick born 1869, Bridget born 1873, John born 1877, Myles born 1879, James(my grandfather) born 1884, and Margaret born 1888. Apart from having my grandfather’s death certificate, we need to have all the childrens and my great grandparents death certificates as well. We are not having any luck with it sadly. Just don’t have any idea when and where any of them died.
    If anyone has any information about this, it would be very much appreciated.
    Thank you
    Ann Wise

      • Ann Wise says:

        Hi Frank,
        Thank you for this website address, which I have had a look at just now. I did go on the irish genealogy.ie website last year and found out when their children were all born. Apart from my grandfather, It’s a shame they didn’t put down when they died because that is the information I need.
        Thank you again for the website address.
        Kind Regards
        Ann

        • Ann Wise says:

          Hi Frank,
          I didn’t realise you were the admin of this website. What I wanted to know is how do I go about finding out who put this up about my great grandparents and their children. It might be a distant relation who has done this. Do you know how I can find out?

          Kind Regards
          Ann

  25. Dulce Marie says:

    My great grandfather was from Cork, Ireland. His name Shaun O’ Shea, and I am proud to carry his last name even if is the third last name. Thank you, for your blog, keep on the good work.
    Cordially,
    Dr. Dulce M. Columbie O’Shea.

  26. lisa says:

    my friend name is tara o shea and i was wondring if john o shea are realted

  27. Dulce says:

    Hello, still looking for any ancestors of Shaun O’ Shea from Cork, Ireland. I am much interested in locating any family relating to him. My dad pass away two months ago, and I would like to know. For closure reason, also for me as well. We are a hardworking, honest, and proud bloodline. Once again, thank you for this wonderful blog. In a way we are all connected.
    Thanks,
    Dulce Columbie O’Shea

  28. Dolores says:

    just wondering if anyone would know an Ellen O Shea born in 1952, Churchtown, Beaufort now residing in the UK. Would anyone know of any of her family. I think she just had one brother who is deceased and maybe 3or 4 sisters would like to get in touch with her for personal reasons… or if anyone knew a relation of hers and where they lived. O Shea’s and the killorglin area are like a needle in a haystack. thanks if anyone can help. Dolores

  29. Kelly Lowe says:

    Hi,

    I’m looking for my Great Grandfather Christopher O’Shea b.1868 in Cork City living in England, his with Brigit O’Shea maiden name Buckley and their son Bernard Patrick O’Shea b.1897. The last census in 1911 puts Christopher and Bernard in England boarding with a workmate of Christopher’s in His Majesty’s Customs & Excise. If anyone is connected to them, or knows where I can go to get more info that would be great. Oh and I’m in New Zealand so email contacts would be helpful! 🙂 Thanks!

    Kelly

  30. Kathy says:

    I am looking for a shea family from moneyflugh sneem my ggrandmother was johanna shea her father was patrick and her mother was julia fitzgerald i found on the irishgenealogy.ie site a brother dermot sisters catherine and hanora but no other info on parents. any clues would help Kathy

  31. Karen Pearlman says:

    My grandfather was Fredrick O’Shea (1901-1946). He had 2 sisters Louisa and Lenna. His father was William Edgar O’Shea born 1877 in New York, William’s father was James O’Shea born 1842 in Ireland. I found a James O’Shea born April 2 1842 to Michael and Ellen (O’Grady). I am traveling to Ireland in October and am looking for any connections to Michael and Ellen.

  32. Erin O'Brien says:

    Hi, All,
    I looked up Marriages Recorded in the City of Boston 1889 and found John H. Shea (age 30) and Annie (Shea) Shea* (age 29) whose marriage was Dec.17.

    The parents of John H. Shea were Edward Shea and Elizabeth Moynihan, and the parents of Annie E. Shea (*her maiden name) were Michael Shea and Honora Keating, who were my maternal great grandparents.

    Annie must have been the older sister of Mary Agnes “Molly” Shea Molloy, who was my mom’s other maternal grandmother. My mom told me she believed the O’ was dropped from the name.

    Many thanks in advance for your help with any further information,
    Erin O’Brien

  33. Frank Maguire says:

    Looking for a man named Jimmy O’Shea who was born approximately 1951-1952 and originally from Tipperary. He worked in Dublin as an electrician in the mid 1970’s. Does anyone have any information about a man fitting this brief description? I could really use the help.

Comments are closed.